Support local journalism by subscribing today! Click Here to see our current offers.

Lincoln County voters have cast their ballots in the 2020 Oregon Primary Election conducted Tuesday, May 19.

As of May 20, Lincoln County tallied 18,816 votes, with approximately 99 percent counted. Voter turnout was just over 50 percent.

Unofficial results in the County Commissioner, Position 2, race show Claire Hall well ahead with 6,789 votes while Joe Hitselberger was the next closest at 3,484 votes.

The results in the Lincoln County District Attorney race reveal Lanee Danforth with 9,484 votes, just ahead of current DA Jonathan Cable at 6,061 votes. In another Lincoln County race, Judge of the Circuit Court, 17th District, Position 1, Sheryl Bachart (12,008 votes) was well ahead of challenger Russell Baldwin (4,887 votes).

County commissioners will certify the results within 20 days.

State primary results

In the race for President, Joseph Biden won the Oregon democratic vote with 354,108 votes or 67.43 percent. Donald Trump won the republican vote with 303,504 votes or 93.61 percent. Trump ran unopposed in the primary election.

For US Senator on the republican side, Jo Rae Perkins edged out Paul Romero Jr. with 148,040 votes or 48.98 percent. The democrats will send incumbent Jeff Merkley to the general election with 482,124 votes. Merkley ran in the primary unopposed.

Democrats are sending Suzanne Bonamici, who garnered 77,906 votes to the general election in the US Representative 1st District. She will face Christopher C. Christensen, republican who received 18,766 votes.

In the 2nd District democrat race, Alex Spenser received 22,705 votes while republican Cliff Bentz leads unofficially with 34,389 votes.

Earl Blumenauer got the nod in the US Representative 3rd District race with121,758 votes. He will face republican challenger Joanna Harbour who got 17,482 votes.

In the US Representative 4th district Peter Defazio will face Alex Skarlatos in the general election in November.

Incumbent democrat Kurt Schrader running in the US Representative 5th District, received 70.54 percent of the vote and will face republican Amy Ryan Courser who got 52.55 percent of the vote.

See the full Lincoln County results below:

Primary Election - Final Report
Total number of votes: 18,816
Approximate % Counted: 99.00%
Turnout: 50.76%
United States President, Democrat
Joseph R Biden               5934
Bernie Sanders               1196
Elizabeth Warren              524
Tulsi Gabbard                   158
United States Senator, Democrat
Jeff Merkley                    7371
United States Representative in Congress, 5th District - Democrat
Blair G Reynolds                584
Kurt Schrader                  5202
Mark F Gamba                 1888
Secretary of State - Democrat
Mark D Hass                     2920
Jamie McLeod-Skinner       1889
Shemia Fagan                   2616
State Treasurer - Democrat
Tobias Reed                     6325
Attorney General - Democrat   
Ellen Rosenblum              6612
State Senator, 5th District - Democrat
Melissa T Cribbins            6247
State Representative, 9th District - Democrat           
Cal Mukumoto                  189
Mark Daily                        64
State Representative, 10th District - Democrat
David Gomberg               6256
United States President - Republican
Donald J Trump               4039
United States Senator - Republican
Paul J Romero Jr             1318
Robert Schwartz               539
Jo Rae Perkins                1851
John Verbeek                   295
United States Representative in Congress, 5th District - Republican
Angela Roman                   361
Amy Ryan Courser           1826
G Shane Dinkel                1214
Joey Nations                     542
Secretary of State - Republican
Kim Thatcher                  3380
Dave W Stauffer               642
State Treasurer - Republican
Jeff Gudman                   3649
Attorney General - Republican
Michael Cross                 3388
State Senator, 5th District - Republican
Dick Anderson                3657
State Representative, 9th District - Republican
Boomer Wright               50
State Representative, 10th District - Republican
Max Sherman             3443
Judge of the Supreme Court, Position 1
Thomas A Balmer       9933
Van Pounds                3911
Judge of the Supreme Court, Position 7
Martha Walters        11886
Judge of the Court of Appeals, Position 11
Joel DeVore               7689
Kyle L Krohn              5869
Judge of the Court of Appeals, Position 1
Josephine H Mooney    11611
Judge of the Court of Appeals, Position 12
Erin C Lagesen            11567
Judge of the Court of Appeals, Position 13
Doug Tookey               12838
Judge of the Circuit Court, 17th District, Position 1
Russell L Baldwin            4246
Sheryl M Bachart          10694
District Attorney, Lincoln County
Kenneth R Park              1122
Lanee Danforth              8251
Jonathan H Cable           5411
Lincoln County Commissioner, Position 2
Joe Hitselberger             3080
Claire Hall                     5965
Edward M Johnston         600
David M Davis               1470
Betty Kamikawa            2648
Write-Ins                       907
Lincoln County Assessor
Joe Davidson              11150

Online Poll

Did you evacuate during the Echo Mountain Complex fire?

You voted:

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.